Gone in a flash: Everything I (don’t) know about PR

Someone once told me that in PR you can look away for 12 seconds and BAM, suddenly you’re 12 minutes (or hours) behind.

During my short time in the PR world (and through my adventures on Twitter), I have quickly learned that this statement is no joke. PRofessionals need to know what’s going on in the world before it even happens to stand a chance in the biz and are constantly challenged to respond, react and respond again.

As an aspiring PRo, I happen to love the fast-paced nature of the biz. With a passion for writing and a drive to learn everything there is to know about the PR world, starting a blog seemed like the inevitable next step for me. Inevitable, yes. Challenging and intimidating, double yes. But, when I put my mind to something, there is no turning back, so I decided to take the advice of Nike and Just Do It.

A recent post on the Fast Horse Peep Show blog caught my attention and challenged me to think about PR, specifically image, in a new light. It only seems appropriate to start out with some of my thoughts on this topic because, after all, isn’t image what PR is all about? PRos work hard every day to create an image for their client that tells a story and resonates with the audience. Great stories have the power to transform a brand into a lifestyle.

Take the recent Starbucks logo change for example. Like all change, the logo has been met with a mixed response and plenty of criticism. A rare non-coffee drinker, I consider myself worthy to make a fair assessment of the new logo (although I have always thought that Caribou Coffee does a fabulous marketing job). Even though some have criticized the company for categorizing themselves with the likes of the wordless logos of Nike and Apple, I applaud the company for creating a logo that more accurately portrays the new image they have built. “Starbucks is selling an experience, but by no means is coffee the only part of the experience,” said John Quelch, a marketing professor at Harvard Business School. The new wordless logo will help Starbucks tell their story to the consumer: Don’t just come for the coffee, come for the experience!

Here’s where the “everything I (don’t) know about PR” comes into play. As a “millennial,” I realize that my generation is constantly criticized for thinking we know everything there is to know about anything. So, I’d like to start out by confessing to you that I don’t know everything about PR. Not even close. I realize that this biz is a constant whirlwind of learning, change and progression, but I am up for the challenge and won’t be going anywhere soon. 🙂

In essence, this blog will be all about everything I (don’t) know about PR. This means that even though I still have a lot to learn, I want to challenge myself to critically think about the current issues, trends and changes in PR and bring some of my own ideas to the table. All comments/suggestions/criticisms are not only welcome, but much appreciated! I said it before and I’ll say it again, when I put my mind to something, there is no turning back!

This entry was posted in Branding, Image, Marketing. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Gone in a flash: Everything I (don’t) know about PR

  1. Great first post! Never stop learning, right? Good luck with your blog and thanks for following me on Twitter.

Leave a Reply

